Urban Interventions

I have a terrific interest in urban interventions to promote a sense of connection and inclusion in cities and to reduce hopelessness and alienation.

Professionally, I have long acted on this interest and commitment by teaching – particularly teaching those who tend to be under-served for one reason or another by public institutional systems. But on a personal level I try also to be a neighborhood ambassador, which is to say that I try to “be the change I wish to see in the world.” Specifically, I reach out in whatever way I find at hand to those I pass on the street or park, particularly those who look lonely or isolated.

Last month I wrote here about a new enterprise, my “cottage industry,” my latest little urban intervention. It is a little project, surely, but it fits into the little cracks of time between my four concurrent teaching projects.

Every week I paint a couple of stones, of fist-size or smaller, in a vivid and eye catching way, label the undersides with the words Finders Keepers, and tuck them near a tree or shrub in a public space.

There they sit in wait until they catch someone’s eye who picks them up and, I hope, is cheered at the thought of the find. Maybe he takes it home. Maybe he puts it in his pocket until he spots a new place where he can leave it hours later for another person to find. Maybe he feels just a little more positive, a little more courageous, and tries something he has been wanting to do but had been discouraged from. Maybe an ache stopped hurting for a moment.

I deliberately do not include any marks on my rocks allowing the recipient to know from where the gift came, so the actual life story of the stones after I leave them remains a mystery.

But maybe, just maybe, today I got a signal back.

At the foot of a tree in a grassy area where I have left two Finders Keepers on different days, exactly where I left them, I found today a blank rock. There are no rocks in this park, so it had to have been brought in.

Was it a message back to this mystery rock-bunny? Was it placed there as a suggestion that I paint another and leave it in the same spot?

I will do that and see how long it takes for it to disappear.

About reflectionsandrotations

I'm an educator and coach with a special interest in fostering creative thinking, designing effective learning environments, and building communities of learners
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Urban Interventions

  1. patricia chandrashekhar says:

    Such a lovely thing to do. I’d love to do something like that. Maybe one could do that with books?

Leave a Reply

